GameGrin Gaming Forums
Home LANs Forums Reviews Previews

Go Back   GameGrin Gaming Forums > All Things GameGrin (GG) > Web Site: Updates & Problems

Web Site: Updates & Problems Noticed a problem with the GameGrin site or unsure how to use a feature? Post in here for more information.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22-10-2013, 03:03 PM   #1
Kaostic

“Because cards...”
 
Kaostic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 13,854
Blog Entries: 40
Kaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond repute
Image compression?

Do images compress at all?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acelister
It was this, or play with myself
Kaostic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 09:54 PM   #2
djdawsonuk

Bullsquid
Administrator
 
djdawsonuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 4,566
djdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Image compression?

When you sit an elephant on them, yes.

Any more context for this?
__________________
djdawsonuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 10:48 PM   #3
Kaostic

“Because cards...”
 
Kaostic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 13,854
Blog Entries: 40
Kaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Image compression?

I uploaded a 1.5MB file. It was 1.5MB once it was uploaded and live.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acelister
It was this, or play with myself
Kaostic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 12:19 AM   #4
djdawsonuk

Bullsquid
Administrator
 
djdawsonuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 4,566
djdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond reputedjdawsonuk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Image compression?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaostic View Post
I uploaded a 1.5MB file. It was 1.5MB once it was uploaded and live.
When you upload it, you are uploading the full size one to the site.

Then, when the site shows the image, it looks at the sizes/cropping I'm telling it to generate. It then saves the modified file down to the disk, for quick access to that size without hogging system resources doing it every time it's loaded.

This should also happen inside a post, unless the image is smaller than the width of the article itself, where it won't resize and therefore still load the full size files link.

Where abouts did you load this image too, and I'll look at the code that calls it and see if it's loading the full-size one or not.
__________________
djdawsonuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:14 AM   #5
Kaostic

“Because cards...”
 
Kaostic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 13,854
Blog Entries: 40
Kaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond reputeKaostic has a reputation beyond repute
I'm not on sure where the actual image is but it's in the DuckTales profile.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acelister
It was this, or play with myself
Kaostic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
compression, image

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
#61 image dump Beanz GameOn LANS - General GO LAN Chat 34 28-07-2005 01:25 PM
Image Exploits Sin_Chase General Chat 0 21-10-2004 02:19 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:02 PM.


More on gaming

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2016 GameOn Networking Ltd, T/A GameGrin